In some countries many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past Do you think this is a positive or negative development

These days many people choose to live alone, especially in metropolitan areas and this rate is far higher in developed countries and it seems like this has become quite normal there.

I believe this trend has more negative consequences than the few positive outcomes it offers.

First of all, people living alone will be more freedom and privacy to do whatever they want such as decorating their house follow their hobby, and avoid unnecessary arguments. For example, young people nowadays who have independent thoughts and want to do what they like such as going out late, taking friend to home for drinking or party, which are very difficult to do if they live with theyu family or their friends. Therefore, this trend is

becoming more and more popular in today”s modern society, especially in urban areas.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of this development are worth paying attention. To begin with, some psychological researches indicated that people who have a solitary lifestyle will have a high chance of mental illness such as depression and anxiety disorders. For instance, many Japanese young people chose cuicide because of stressful pressure from work and the thing that they living alone make them unable to release pressure and fall into isolation stage, which lead to many tragic cases. More importantly, from financial point of view, a rise in demand for housing is likely to push up property prices and rents. While this may benefit some businesses, the general population, including those who live alone, will be faced with rising living costs.

In conclusion, the positive effect of being independent could not outweigh its negative effects as this trend may possibly lead to psychological problems and bad financial conditions. People should spend more time together, which will create a happy society in the future.