In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found a job. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a rising in the number of adults staying with their parents even after graduating and having a full-time job. Although there are certain benefits of living with family, I believe that the disadvantages involved are more significant.

On the one hand, there are some significant merits if the grownups do not move out. Firstly, it is undoubted that staying under the same roof can be an economical choice. This is because people can save money on expenses that they can split with their parents like rents or grocery bills. Especially for those who do not have a high-paid job, it can reduce the financial burden and enables them to save up for the future. The second advantage could be that living in the parental home can increase the family bond. Many adults are too engaged in making a living that they rarely have the opportunity to have a family gathering. By staying with their parents, people can strengthen the family sentiment easily and take care of their parents more conveniently, which can decrease the rate of abandoned elders.

On the other hand, I believe the drawbacks of this matter prevail over its benefits. First of all, staying in the same house as their parents can deprive people of learning necessary skills. People living in a multigeneration home usually are exempt from doing domestic chores, which means that these capable adults do not know the basic skills like cooking or cleaning that are vital in life when they eventually have to move out because of marriage or parents’ passing away. Secondly, people are more likely to be financially dependent on their parents as they are staying with them. Being able to rely on their guardians acts as a precursor for these adults to have a sedentary lifestyle as they do not have the urge to find a job. Moreover, this can cause financial hardships on the parents as some have to continue working despite the fact that they have passed the retirement age to cover the expenses of their offsprings.

In conclusion, although returning back to the parental home can be conducive in some factors such as financial aspects and familial relationships, this temporary lifestyle will not be helpful for them in the future.