In some countries the number of people who visit art galleries is declining. What are the reasons for this? How can we solve this problem?

Visiting art galleries has become more and more unpopular as number of visitors are decreasing in many countries. This could be due to galleries showcasing the same art which can be easily accessed online. There are a few measures which can be taken to improve this situation.

It is believed that the declining interest in visiting art galleries is a result of the lack of new artworks being exhibited. Showcasing the same piece of art over and over again will not give visitors a reason to visit again in the future. Moreover, with the advent of the internet, most artwork can easily be found through a simple Google search. To illustrate this, according to a survey conducted by the Royal Academy of Arts, a majority of the responders would rather learn about a specific art piece online than appreciating the work in person because it is more convenient and less time consuming for their already hectic lifestyle.

However, this situation can be reversed if the right actions are taken. In order to maintain interest among the community, local art galleries should collaborate with other art museums across the globe to exchange artworks every few months. This could potentially attract more visitors as they do not need to travel to another country to enjoy an artwork that was previously exclusive to a specific art gallery. Furthermore, teachers also play an important role in cultivating an artistic interest in school students. For instance, this can be achieved by introducing more art classes into the school curriculum or arranging more field trips to art museums.

In conclusion, it is clear that the declining number of art gallery visitors can be attributed to the lack of interest within the community. Therefore, measures such as regularly updating the art exhibits and encouraging students to take an interest in arts should be carried out.