In some countries owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people Why might this be the case Do you think it is a positive or negative situation

Home has been meaning for thousands of years basically the same for humans: safety. For our ancestors who had to struggle every day to survive making a living on hunting and fishing, a humble cave was the place where to regain strenght, cook meat and nurse wounds. Time has passed and the way we live has undergone deep changes as the rest of the world as well. Nowadays our homes are full of appliances, are connected to electricity and fresh water is close at hand just by turning on the tap. If it is true therefore that the main function of a house has remained the same throughout history, the same cannot be said about the way people choose to live in their homes.

The debate whether is better to own a home or to rent one is still open and leaves many questions unanswered. In this essay I will briefely analyze those two opposite points of view and motivate why I believe owning a home is the best choice.

Renting a house have some advantages. First of all, it allows more freedom and it is linked to less responsibility. This solution is for example perfectly suited for people who have to travel a lot for work or do not want to settle down for a long time in a city. If they want to move to another city or they find a better job in another city the can simply terminate the lease. The downside of renting a house can be dramatically observed in the long term: paying rent for decades equals basically with a huge waste of money, since that the money spent to pay the rent could have been more proficiently allocated to buy an apartment.

Following this statement, owning a home is to me the best way to live for other reasons as well: first of all, buying a home it is not necessarily linked to exorbitant cost. During a recession for example, good deals can be made since prices can abruptly go down. Secondly, buying an apartment is a valid way to invest money: an apartment can be let or can be sold when prices begin to soar again. Thirdly, it is something that nobody can take you away and especially when one gets older, it can rapresent a major strenght point. Having to rely mostly on a pension and to face sometimes diseases, not having to pay a rent it is surely an important relief.

To conclude, owning a home is a sensible way to spend money and to live as well. The disadvantges connected to it - like maintanance and taxes - do not outweight the benefits of having something stable, safe and inalienable.