In some countries small town center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out of town stores As a result people without cars have limited access to out of town stores and it may result in an increase in the use of cars

It is true that the closure of small town-center shops and the shift towards large out-of-town stores in some countries is gaining more popularity. In my opinion, the benefits of this change far eclipse its drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is true that the shutting down of shops located in small town centers can be advantageous in some aspects but I don't support it at all. First of all, the closure of small shops affects community cohesion and local economies. Additionally, people without cars face challenges in reaching out-of-town stores, leading to inequality in access to affordable products. For instance, a poor family in the center of town often shopped at the small store nearby, unfortunately all the small shops were closed and only operated out of town stores. This is going to be difficult for this family.

On the other hand, I believe that there are more negative implications that should be taken into consideration. There is no doubt that the increased use of cars contributes to environmental issues such as air pollution and traffic congestion, going against efforts to combat climate change. For example, During peak commuting times, a large number of cars are on the road, leading to congestion and prolonged travel times. As a result, vehicles spend more energy , which significantly increases fuel consumption and emissions of greenhouse gases. This not only contributes to air pollution but also undermines efforts to combat climate change by releasing excessive carbon dioxide and other pollutants into the atmosphere.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of closing small shops include reduced community cohesion and limited access for non-car owners. Increased car usage also harms the environment. Prioritizing local businesses, accessibility, and sustainability is vital.