In some countries, some high school leavers are choosing to work or travel for a period before going to university. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of those school leavers’ decision. Give your opinion.

After graduating from high school, students tend to find a job or go on a trip for a period before entering college. While this decision might bring some drawback, I would argue that there are more beneficial impacts on those taking a gap year than ones who do not.

The option of spending time working or traveling right away after school is disadvantageous to some extent. The main shortcoming is that people using their time to fulfill their purposes, traveling around the world, for example, might start their career later than fellows who do not choose to get a job or go on a trip. As a result, they might get promoted later. In addition, it takes plenty of money for high school graduates to afford a long day trip. Sometimes, the parents have to pay the expenses for their children. It is not advisable that people should take this option.

On the other hand, I believe that taking a gap year is better because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, exploring new places would give you a chance to know about some foreign cultures, make more friends, therefore broaden your knowledge and enhance yourself. For example, my close friend had been in Canada for one year before going to university. He said that it was the most valuable time for him because it makes him become more confident, enthusiastic and fluent in English as well. Secondly, you will have time to figure out your dream, your passion, what kind of people you want to become then you can make your choice for the future more carefully and precisely.

In conclusion, it seems to me that there are many advantages of working or traveling for some time before university time, although this decision has some notable disadvantages.