in some countries in the world health service is free. SOme people feel that smokers should not get free treatment for smoking relaxed illnesses because they are knowingly harming themselves. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

From a non-smokers point of view, I totally agree with this statement that smokers should pay for their own medical expenses. Smokers know the risk of smoking, so why are we paying for those risks?

Smokers think that they should receive free treatment for smoking because they also pay taxes like others. I do not think that the idea is reasonable because smokers are using many more health services, but they only pay the same amount in taxes. Smokers also say that they pay very high cigarette taxes, so they spend a lot of money on health care services without any effect. I disagree with this because in addition to the cost of medical services, smokers also affect the environment, tobacco smoke is one of the causes of global warming, the governments need to spend a lot of money to overcome this problem.

Smokers not only killing themselves but also killing other people too. Another added reason for some people believing that smokers should contribute to some of the costs of their health treatment is that smokers can harm other people’s health too. This effect is known as passive smoking and it has been shown to be able to increase a non-smoker’s risk of developing lung cancer or heart.

All in all, I would say that it is right that smokers should pay extra for any treatment. If smokers pay more money for health care and pay more for taxes, this will cause them to consider before smoking. And if smokers reduce their cigarettes, this will help the government save the cost of tackling the environment that tobacco smoke causes.