In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Peoples are divided on the issue that countries should encourage the young peoples to do jobs or to travel before attending university. Some people think that it is better for students to attend university, while others believe that travelling and working before joining the university for formal education is better for the students to understand the world. In my opinion, it is very important for students to develop communication, attain maturity and develop professional attitudes and the later approach is the better way of achieving it.

First of all, this will prepare the students for higher education. In the school student are no fully matured. Even some remain childish in thinking and behaviour. In the university, a student will meet with different types of peoples so there require a good understanding and mental maturity stage for that. The university campus provides special and deep knowledge of particular field which require hard working and learning capability. Because university education and teachers prepare the students to survive in the real world on his own basis any place, some prior travel and work experience would even accelerate it more.

Moreover, it will make one to understand the professional life. This will provide important experience to a student to mange theirs studies with work, because in higher studies students have to finance their studies or to work in research laboratories. Working at shop or small office will teach the students to understand the working pressure, cooperation with coworkers and complete the task in schedule. In my school days I worked in a drug selling shop from where I learned how to convince and cool down the angry customer during selling. This, later on, proved to be valuable experience in my university level.

Finally, it gives the chance to improve communication skill. Communication skill is an important part not only at working area but also in learning centre. With excellent speaking and respecting attitudes, one can win the favour of opposing persons. Travelling makes the person to share views and learn various cultures, languages from other peoples. Exchanging opinion enriches one’s speaking ability.

In summation, it is clear that pre-university jobs and travelling are vital experiences. These not only prepare one for civil life and toward maturity but also make one to improve communication skill.