Some devices have put all of the world’s information at our fingertips. The benefits of this development are obvious, but what are the drawbacks?

The advent of smart gadgets marked the commencement of a new era - the Information Age. While these modern devices have opened up the opportunities for people to get access to the limitless source of information and brought about huge benefits, they are not without drawbacks. Analysing the threats posed on our privacy and the possible degradation of our recollection will show this.

The advancement of smart devices entails the birth of the Internet which, in some ways, puts our privacy at stake. In 2018, Facebook - a social media giant was accused of leaking its users’ personal information to other corporations for the purpose of advertising. This has alarmed netizens as the whole about the insecurity in this virtual environment where individual data can be sold like a product. In this sense, living in a world of information is not really a positive thing.

Another demerit of these state-of-the-art devices is its potential menace to our memory. As people can search for information just through a click of a mouse, they tend to overly rely in these gadgets. For example, online Wikipedia was devised to meet the demand for news and data, however, it turns out to be detrimental to our memory’s ability due to our overdependence on it for information without remembering it ourselves. Beside that, an unfortunate trend of this useful web is that it can serve as a fraudulent tool manipulated by students to cheat in the exams.

As the above has made clear, modern devices can be demeritorious in the manner it makes threats against our privacy as well as how it is used for negative purposes. By now, it is highly recommended that we should not only take advantage of these technological advances but at the same time, know how to avoid the dangers mentioned above.