Some employers are giving increased importance to employing people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in a job?

In this day and age, good social skills become more vital in the recruitment of some employers, associated with good qualifications. While I agree that the importance of good qualifications is undeniable, I hold a strong belief that social skills are equally necessary with qualifications to achieve success in the workplace.

On the one hand, it is an irrefutable fact that formal diplomas are crucial for one's job since they often serve as reliable indicators of one's aptitude and expertise in the field. This is particularly true for areas like information technology, computer science, and medicine that call for extensive study and development. For instance, in special jobs such as lawyers, doctors or nurses, without specialized knowledge as well as license, one has a limited chance of obtaining a job or even getting promoted.

On the other hand, I would argue that soft skills are also pivotal for an employee to climb the ladder of success. The main and perhaps the most persuasive reason is that the work environment can be very extreme, which requires employees to have a balance between skills and specialized knowledge to handle everything well. For example, when being demanded to work in a team that lacks a cooperative spirit or trying to accommodate unsatisfied customers, employees need cooperation and communication skills to finish their tasks and assignments well. In addition to this, because of the great development of science and technology, humans are in danger of being replaced by machines and AI. Therefore, forging soft skills - which AI does not have, will partly ensure job opportunities as well as promotion for employees.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned points, I once reaffirm that social skills are of great significance as good qualifications and the workers should master both things for long-term benefits.