Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at the primary school, than at secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is contended by some professionals that exposing foreign language at lower level school is considered to be highly educational than at higher level school. While it is thought out that there may be difficulties, it still has a positive effect to the students. The paragraphs below will explain the advantages of introducing foreign language lesson to primary students than to secondary schooler and how it outshines its detriments.

To begin with, learning the dialect of another country at grade school entails a challenge to the pupil. Children have playful minds and short attention span that would require a teacher to indulge an effective teaching plan, in order for a student to learn. In particular, grade schooler are studying multiple subject at school, hence introducing a foreign course would be an added load for them. As a consequence, young learners lose interest to this matter, thereby creating a dilemma for both the student and the teacher.

Nonetheless, literacy to an unfamiliar language during elementary brings favorable outcome than at secondary. One advantage is it makes students excel in their academic performance. Also, it assists in developing good communication skills. For instance, a primary student who has been taught with international language can participate well in class activities. As a result, students with background to foreign speech succeed more compared to those who do not have.

In conclusion, some specialists insist that nonnative language at primary education has greater impact on educational success than at secondary education. In my view, the competencies gained at this foreign language course during elementary level significantly surpass its drawbacks.