Some groups of people have benefit from modern communication technology but some people have not benefit at all, to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of the fourth industrial revolution, technology is significantly influencing human’s life. It is said that a great number of people benefits from innovative communication tools while some others do not see any potential advantages. I personally agree with this opinion totally.

On the one hand, youngsters are the ones who receive the most assistance from developing technology in terms of information exchange. The young are agile and quick on the uptake; they can easily learn to stay up to date with improved technology at rocket-speed and use it to serve their purposes. It is hard for young people to imagine their life without email, messengers, skype and other kinds of social media; since they use them very often in chatting or even group-studying with their friends, especially when there is a large distance between them. For example, I use messenger almost every day to talk to my best friend living in Japan, which is about seven-hour flight away from Vietnam.

On the other hand, technology seems to do senior citizens no good; on the contrary, it even widens the gap between them and their progeny. Most of them no longer possess a sound mind to adapt to new technology and make use of it. Conversely, technology is acting as a deterrent to communication between the elderly and their grandchildren; as adolescents are often absorbed in technological devices such as smartphones and tablets with social media applications available and forget to conserve with their grandparents. Gradually, this leads to lack of communication between the two generations and separate them apart.

In conclusion, I agree that technology only serves a certain group of people, which is the young, while it brings no advantages and even drawbacks to the old age group.