In some part of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do

this? Is it a negative or positive development?

In this day and age,more and more attention has been placed on conducting research into family history . There may be compelling reasons for this trend; however, from my perspective, this notion will have more detrimental effects on people’s lives than positive ones.

It seems that people have this tendency due to two primary reasons. First, the curiosity about the ancestors stimulates young people to explore their family historical background. They may want to have knowledge of their ancestors’ social class in the past ; for example, knowing that their great grandfather belongs to a royal family can make them proud of their family. Second, conducting research about the origins of the family can serve medical purposes.It is undeniable that people want to be conscious of the disease they might inherit from their ancestors.

However, this trend would have some adverse effects. First, in spite of medical purposes, research into the family history can be a waste of time and money. It is a fact that people have to travel to numerous places as well as ask a large number of people related to the past of their family for information, which is unnecessary and time-wasting. Instead they should focus their resources on working or study as well as taking care of their present family. Second, it will affect the offspring pessimistically.To illustrate, if their ancestors were criminals, they would have a sense of embarrassment and lose their confidence.

In conclusion, due to the aforementioned negative effects, I hold a firm belief that young people should not do research into their family history.