In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing What problems is this causing What measures could be taken to counter this situation

In this modern era, traditional events and celebrations in some regions of the world are on the brink of extinction. The two main reasons contributed to this phenomenon are the massive modernization and social problem such as rejection by religious leaders. This essay will briefly explain that two main factors and the possible solution to mitigate the issue.

Recently, we are facing the rapid technological development era that make people easier in getting any information providing a huge impact on how they see their way of life. In consequence, they will tend to adapt new way of thinking and somehow novel method in living their life including leaving their traditional habit in celebrate any events. For instance, cooking and providing Tumpeng (a yellow rice) for neighbours to celebrate birthday in traditional javanese culture now has being changed with singing and slicing birthday cake for family and friends. Tumpeng for some people is considered as out of date dish for celebrating birthday. Additionally, the other factor that make people lost of interest in celebrating traditional festivals is because of its contradictory with any religious values. A representative case is the vanishing of traditional dance called "Kuda-kepang". During the dance, the dancers should follow traditional ceremony to call spirit souls for entering their bodies. This dance is used to use to rejecting evil, preventing any disasters and praying for the fertility of the lands. However, in the modern religious era, the dance is considered as satanic ceremonial that against religious value.

To cope with this problem, the government and related parties like cultural practitioners could initiates a big campaign and education to prevent traditional events disappearing. For example, the governments could use social media and influencers to promote traditional dishes and festivals. It has happened in East Java Indonesia, that the local government organize Tumpeng cooking competition in celebration of Indonesia independence day. The event successfully made Tumpeng gaining popularity again among people. Moreover, regarding controversial dance clashing religious value, the government and cultural practitioners could retouching the dance or the process of any traditional festivals so that it has no contradictory with any religious values and can be used as entertainment.

In conclusion, the loss of traditional events is either caused by modernization and social rejection. However, the government and cultural activists could take real action through community campaign on social media and remaking sensitive parts of the traditional festivals in order to make it acceptable for any religion.