Some people are born to be leaders, others believe leadership can be learnt. Discuss and give opinion.

It is true that leaders have played an indispensable role in the development of any organizations worldwide. Although some argue that leadership is innate personal traits, others, myself included, believe that the majority of leadership skills can be developed through knowledge, training and experience over time.

On the one hand, many may claim that leaders are those who were born with leadership characteristics. Firstly, it is commonly argued that they possess distinct personalities from ordinary people, such as strong self belief, intelligence and decisiveness. Obviously, a good leader can use his extraordinary critical thinking and analytical ability to come up with effective and creative strategies for any problems that arise at work. Secondly, born leaders often have the capacity to motivate, inspire and encourage people around them toward a common goal. They can quickly recognize the strengths and weaknesses of their team members to delegate responsibilities and authority in an effective way.

On the other hand, I would argue that leadership is a skill that can be developed and perfected by practice. It is apparent that the majority of important leading positions appear to have an abundance of life experiences throughout their career and a deep understanding of the core competencies in their organization, so they have a better vision for the future. Furthermore, many successful and eminent world leaders were not natural born leaders, but they have been practicing to remain curious to innovative approaches, follow their passion and understand the importance of patience and empathy with their subordinates. All this would culminate in them becoming great leadership role models for their team members.

In conclusion, while others hold the view that leadership is an innate ability, I agree with those who believe that it can be acquired for anyone that has a strong motivation to lead others."