Some people believe that all wild animals should be protected. Others say that only a few wild animals should be protected. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether or not all wild animals should be protected. While some argue that only a few species of wild animals should be protected, I hold the view that all kinds of animals have the right to receive protection.

On the one hand, many people believe that protection is necessary to only certain kinds of animals. They argue that endangered species such as elephant, lion or tiger should be prioritized in the practice of preservation since protecting all animals takes much more effort and money. Additionally, some species bring a huge number of disadvantages to human’s life. For instance, rats are a kind of menace as they carry disease, cause poor hygiene conditions to many areas and contaminate food and water. Therefore, rats need regulation in numbers rather than protection.

On the other hand, I strongly agree with those who believe that every single species should receive protection. In their opinion, every species has its own role to play in the ecosystem as each one of them contributes to biodiversity which is the key to a healthy ecosystem. In fact, the domino effect that shows the loss of any species can trigger extinction of every other species has been proved by the researchers. Moreover, there are no animals that contribute nothing to human’s life. Rats can bring a lot of inconveniences to humans, but it is undeniable that rats have always been an useful laboratory animal to the scientists and if there were no rats, the ecosystem balance would definitely be affected.

In conclusion, although there are some convincing arguments that not every species should be protected, I concur that none of the animals should be left behind in the practice of protection and conservation.