Some people believe that to become the vegetarian is the only way to keep healthy. Do you agree or disagree?
The idea that becoming a vegetarian is the only method to achieve a healthy life style still remains a
source of controversy. In my opinion, although vegetables and fruits play a vital role in daily diet, this
is unnecessary to totally become a vegetarian.
On the one hand, there is a wide range of reasons why people should make a habit of consuming a
certain amount of vegetables and fruits everyday. First, plant-based eating, less visible than it is,
might help in preventing a certain type of chronic illnesses like heart failure, stroke or obesity which
is the result from imbalances diet with high amount of fat and glucose. Moreover, research has
shown that not only can offer a sufficient amount of nutrition, vegetarian diet but also give
people a certain side benefits. Fibre from vegetables, fruits and whole grains can improve the
metabolism, wide variety of vitamins and minerals have been proved to give a huge contribution to
control people's weight and stress, prevent dehydration and bright up their skin. Therefore, it is
undeniable that plant-based foods and diet can significantly enhance society's health.
On the other hand, some advocating vegetarianism are ignorant the fact that it is unnecessary to
give up animal-based foods completely to achieve a healthy life style. It should be acknowledged the
fact that, vegetarian suffer a higher rate of encountering a certain degree of mental problems such
as depression or anxiety, which can be considered as a result from nutritional deficiency. According
to studies, iodine, zinc and vitamin B12 might not be adequately provided when people leave
animal-based foods out of their meals.
In addition, if everyone became committed vegetarian, there would be serious drawbacks for
millions of people. For instance, suddenly transformational process can insert a great deal of
negative impact on livestock industries and carnivorous careers, resulting in wide range
unemployment and unexpected financial detriment. Therefore, the key for a decent life style is
keeping a balance diet rather than strictly following vegetarianism.
All things considering, I strongly believe that, despite multiple benefits brought from vegetarian
diet, it is unnecessary to entirely given up meats.