Some people believe that the best way to increase the road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Road safety is one of the major concerns today and according to the opinion of a part of the society the problem can be resolved by increasing the minimum legal age of driving automobile. I totally accord with the statement because of lack of proper experience and maturity which can only be possessed with age.

Though, it is possible for a person to learn and pass their driving test at an early age but there is a huge difference between driving in an empty arena, where the test is conducted, and driving on the roads. At a younger age, mind is not completely developed and even the reflexes are not strong enough to match that of other adult drivers which in turn are one of the foremost reasons of motor accidents happening today. In illustration, according to a survey conducted by WHO in the year 2012 the number of accidents occurring each year are majorly due to lack of attentiveness, high speed or loud music which are mostly found in early age drivers.

Additionally, most of the teenagers being notorious and lacking proper maturity commit unjustified acts such as breaking the traffic rules, ignoring the proper safety measures, overtaking from wrong lanes which not only proves to be a threat to their own life but also put life of the other drives at stake.

In conclusion, the minimum legal age for a person to get an automobile driving license should be increased from what it is currently in order to avoid violation of laws and reduce the count of accidents witnessed each year.