Some people believe the best way to produce a better society is to ensure there is only a small difference between the earnings of the richest and the poorest. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

some people believe that a prosperous society can be achieved by narrowing down the gap to minimum between the rich and the poor. While I agree the idea to some extent, I think certain earning difference is necessary.

Admittedly, eliminating income inequality can be beneficial to maintain a harmonious society. This is because that various social issues and crimes are often the result of financial disparity. Wealthy people have accumulated enormous amount of money and can invest in countless areas to become richer, while some people have to work hard in exchange for little amount of money which can only cover their daily costs. Such financial disparity and differences in living standards breed potential crimes especially when people lose their jobs while still have families to raise. Furthermore, narrowing down income gap gives people hope especially when it comes to the next generation. Children from less wealthy family can have equal access to education resources and become as competitive as those wealthy children.

Nevertheless, I would argue that earning differences and the pursuit of better life drive the advance of society. This is because a variety of research of cutting-edge technologies are funded by companies or rich individuals who see the potential values. If somehow most of their earnings are taken by governments or others who have not contributions to their investments, they can lose the motivation to fund any research which otherwise could lead to another technological revolution. Consequently, most people may not learn or work hard as whatever they do, they can always have decent earnings, which eventually can bring about societal regression.

In conclusion, while reducing financial disparity to some extent can be beneficial to the whole society, certain differences should be guaranteed in order to keep talent people motivated and to make world advance