Some people believe that children learn better when they are placed in classes with
children of similar academic abilities. Others believe that children learn better when
they are in classes with children representing a diverse range of academic abilities.
Discuss both these views and give your opinion.
There are different ideas about the best way to group children for learning.
According to some people, the best way is to group children with others who have
similar academic skills. But there are those who feel it is better to place children
in groups with mixed abilities. I agree with the second point of view.
Some people believe that children do best when they study with others of similar
abilities. They say that this allows children to learn at the right pace. By following
this method, faster children will not be held back by slower children, and slower
children will not be frustrated by trying to move ahead too fast.
Other people, however, think that children do better when they are in a mixed-level
class. For one thing, children who are working at a higher level can serve as models
for other children. They show the lower-level children what might be possible for
them. Also, higher-level children can help others with their work. This provides them
with challenges and reinforces their own learning.
I feel that the best method is to place children in mixed-level classes. A
classroom fllled with variety opens children's minds in many ways. In addition,
no two children are exactly alike. Therefore, it is impossible to have a completely
homogenous class, so why try to have one when you can have all the advantages
of a mixed-level class?
There may be some advantages to having children study only with others of
similar abilities, but I feel that there are many more advantages to studying in a
mixed-level group.