Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if young people study abroad.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that since young generations are given opportunities to study overseas, they may bring great merits to their home country. I somewhat agree with this viewpoint because there are some problems for a nation, but various benefits stem from international students.

On the one hand, students who study abroad may bring certain issues to their country. The main reason is that a nation could be affected by brain drain, which is the most prevalent problem associated with oversea studies. These countries are likely to lose the talented, especially the developing ones. To illustrate, most people decide to emigrate to the country where they studied due to better living conditions and job opportunities compared with their own countries. That said, the loss of manpower is to blame for those people who avoid returning to their hometowns. Moreover, studying study outside of the country is considered a waste of money, which leads to financial issues for this country. One way of explaining this is that the government pays great emphasis on allocating great investment for international students through exchange programs, however, since they do not devote themselves to studying, they are more likely to spoil their nation’s finance.

On the other hand, a country will derive great benefits from international students for a combination of reasons. First and foremost, if students have a chance to access valuable knowledge from foreign countries, they will contribute to their domestic development. Those people, for instance, use the experiences accumulated from high-quality education in foreign countries to apply for various fields in their home country, thus leading to sustainable development. Another compelling reason is that students who live in foreign communities can take advantage to makes friends, of their opportunities to spread out the beauties of cultures, customs, and people in their nation. One such example of this is that Vietnamese students have a reputation for industriousness which is greatly respected by international citizens, paving the way for collaborative opportunities in future projects.