Some people believe that educational qualifications always bring success, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many hold a belief that higher education is the most important predictor of one’s success; while opponents argue that tertiary education cannot guarantee one’s success, there are many other elements combined to build a successful role model. To the best of my knowledge, the former point of view is more reasonable for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that university education is one of the prerequisites to have promising career path in contemporary society. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, the level of qualifications has been accompanied by the increasing number of people’s income. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that the solid background of tertiary education plays an instrument in one’s career prospects. For instance, in famous companies like Big Four where graduates with outstanding academic qualifications are sought-after by employers. This example is the illustration of the fact that enrolling in university curriculums is a stepping-stone to develop a bright career path.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that there are many factors intertwined to create successful careers, because people will definitely fail unless they have a high effort and determination. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account to this is that the fierce competition at working places with other high-qualifications employees has encouraged them to participate in university. For example, Mr. Bill Gates, the founder of software benemoth Microsoft, is a school drop but he succeeded in thriving organizations. However, rare people can do that in real life, which inquiries natural talents and persistence.

According to the above analysis, there is no doubt in my mind that college is the fastest path to success, which is popular with young people today.