Some people believe that the government should not spend money on international aid when they have their own disadvantaged people like the homeless and unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalisation has become increasingly significant trend in recent decades. However, some individuals advocate the view that the authorities should not support other nations, while there are still homelessness and unemployment in their own countries. I somewhat agree with the viewpoint as these issues may have negative impacts on countries, even though aiding other nations may be beneficial for the donor nation.

The first point in support of prioritizing solving problems within countries before helping others is that it would reduce the risk of civil unrests and conflicts in each nation. This is because those who are unable to land a job or afford a house, are likely to feel desperate and finally get involved in alcohol, drug and anti-social acts. Therefore, high rate of unemployment and the homeless would exert a great burden on the economy, which subsequently results in social evils and other law breaking behaviors.

Another explaination for opposing assisitance to international support when nations having their own problems is that international support may require tremendous amount of resources, of which the donor country may not have. Some less developed nations, which do not have many priviledges such as natural resources or capital, could go so far to borrow money and resources from other parties, which is problematic and increase their chance of national bankruptcy.

Admittedly, there are still occasions when it is viable for less advantaged nations supporting others. After catastrophic events in certain countries, the need for food, medicines and medical workers are increased. Under these circumstances, countries can support each other by providing the necessities, which may not be expensive and rare in the donor nations. In addition to this, helping other countries also imply humanity and strengthen international solidarity, which eliminates misunderstanding between nations.

In sum, if poor countries support other nations, when they have their national issues, they would stand a higher chance of having national turmoils as well as exacerbate their own challenges. However, if nations are capable of assisting others, while maintain their autonomy, international aid can sometimes be supplied. I therefore somewhat concer with the overexploitation of national resources for help other nation, except for special situations.