Some people believe that the government should not spend money on international aid when they have their own disadvantaged people like the homeless and unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the state budget should not be allocated towards international support since underprivileged people such as the homeless and unemployed in the country need to be financially aided. I totally disagree with this notion as foreign aid enhances solidarity among nations and symbolizes human decency.

To begin with, I consider the government should provide overseas fiscal aid since it strengthens the unity of different nations around the globe. More specifically, a country which receives monetary assistance from others in times of difficulty would likely recognize this goodwill gesture and reciprocate their favour, fostering cross-border friendship. For instance, due to the financial support of the Russian government for Vietnam in the Vietnam War, these two nations have intensified their friendly relations. As a result, they have become strategic partners in terms of the global economy, leading to favourable trade concessions from which the donating country would financially benefit in another way.

Furthermore, financial support across the globe should be encouraged since it promotes humanity. To be more specific, politicians in wealthy countries can display their nation’s care and empathy for people in less economically developed ones by offering them financial support, enabling them to sustain their lives and solve urgent problems. To illustrate, during the Covid 19 pandemic, the US government financially supported Vietnam in the form of providing free Moderna vaccines for Vietnamese citizens as they faced a great health threat, saving thousands of people and being praised for their benevolence. Therefore, sharing and empathising could be highly valued, promoting a world rich in kindness.

In conclusion, I firmly maintain that foreign aid can intensify the bonds among nations and engender human empathy. It is advisable that the state should develop the nation to be able to financially offer support globally.