some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Other think that building more wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

There have been various controversial arguments surrounding addressing traffic problems. While there are some advocates of constructing more and broadening roads to solve this problem root and branch, I still believe that it is better to invest in the erection of rail and metro lines to alleviate traffic congestion.

On the one hand, there are obvious reasons why the construction and extension of roads can sort the congestion out. In contemporary settings, congestion remains problematic, places in danger of traffic jams tend to rise in densely populated regions, crucial traffic routes, primary axes in and out of metropolitan centers, and so on due to the massive number of traffic as well as the degraded condition of the road. This leads to the annoyance of residents and puts the authorities in a bind. Furthermore, the cost of building roads is substantially lower than that of constructing subway lines, the money saved may then be utilized to fund other critical areas such as healthcare and education.

On the other hand, I would side with those who think that investment in manufacturing subway systems is crucial. Numerous studies have consistently found that subway travel is exceedingly green since it does not emit harmful exhaust fumes into the atmosphere and helps to reduce noise pollution. For example, a study by three American environmentalists drew a conclusion that travel by public transportation produces, on average, about 45 percent less carbon dioxide and nitrogen oxide, per passenger mile than travel by private vehicles. In this way, subway transportation not only alleviates the current traveling overload but also safeguards the environment. Moreover, in densely populated areas, expanding and building more roads is a flight of fancy due to inadequate space, however, a subway network is built underground and there is no need to worry about scarcity of land, turning train and subway systems into the ideal solution.

In conclusion, although some people said it is more beneficial to build and extend roads in order to solve traffic congestion, I personally believe that government should invest in train and subway transportation instead.