Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others, believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

Playing sports has always been related to competition, either are they individual or team sports, people - undoubtedly- have to compete to win. Surprisingly enough, the Olympics go back to thousands of years to ancient Greek times before being resurrected by the late 1890s - exactly by 1896. To have a part in the Olympics or any other sporting event, practitioners should meet specific requirements; besides, sharing in these events will then

has an exquisite advantage even though a minority assume that either hosting or sharing in them is both a waste of money and time.

In an era of technological encroachment, hosting these sporting events will definitely be of a great avail. If a certain country decides to announce that it will organize such an event, a myriad of sport-loving people will ineludibly buy tickets in order to travel to this country and attend such an eminent and intriguing event. Therefore, more people will visit this country; thus, more tourism and a inevitably a higher economical income caused by the

significant increase in the number of tourists (who will undeniably be curious enough to visit touristic places; for nothing but to satisfy their curiosity). Plus, the money gained from the advertising agents and of course the clubs. Not only will hosting these events contributes to a conspicuous increase in the economical income and popularity, but it will also lead the citizens to have an increased sense of patriotism. Proud to see their country in the international headlines, they will have a higher sense of satisfaction of belonging to this country; especially if it wins.

On the flipside, however, a small group of people -insignificantly- presume that hosting these events conduces to a tremendous waste of funds and that allocating these funds to other beneficial things would be much more substantial; such as, spending it to enhance the infrastructure or even to help the plethora of people who are under the poverty line. Nevertheless, the aforementioned assumptions seem to be untenable. By increasing the social income and tourism the countries can then be able to build new streets, schools, and even help poor people, not to mention the fact that by a drastic rise in the tourism, there will be more jobs available for the unemployed poor people. Hence, they will gain more money which will boost their living standard.

To conclude, despite the small amount of people who relinquish the idea of the sporting events, an array of advocates assert that they have numerous privileges. In my own perspective, it is quite explicit that some developing countries need to be spending money on improving its infrastructure and offering opportunities for people to work and gain money; nonetheless, if they spent funds on those events they will gain money on the log run; to be used to improve the country's situations and conditions.