Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too invaluable to be shared freely.Discuss both views and five yo

In much of the recent decade, the world has witnessed an increase in the amount of information in varied fields such as science and business. Some contend that the information should be freely shared, while such an opinion is challenged by many and insist that there are some kinds of information which cannot be open to everyone. However, it seems to me that some vital concepts should not be publicized free of charge. In this essay, some of these arguments will be put forward.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons why some pieces of information are too important to be shared with others. When it comes to business, some information related to new products, functions or designs is regarded as valuable assets. These knowledge and skills - when developed by a company - lead to a success as well as a huge profit. Given the information disclosed to the public, competitors could easily imitate features of the products. With regard to scientists and researchers, having devoted their entire life to study and investigate in their chosen field, they should be rewarded for their concerted efforts. A case in point is copyright, which is the legitimacy of the scientific research. Moreover, some technological breakthroughs, making nuclear bombs for instance, are too detrimental to be readily accessible to the public. Therefore, such practical information is of paramount importance such as to affect societies.

Furthermore, there is no doubt that there is still much knowledge could be freely shared to the world. Take some major breakthroughs in the treatment of cancer as an example, had scientists decided to keep it behind closed doors, a large number of people could have died much earlier than they were supposed to. It is therefore clear that providing unremitting access to a wealth of information, even it is related to nation security risks, can offer huge advantages, which in turn benefits the society as a whole.

In conclusion, on the basis of the points mentioned above, it would seem that distributing information with no cost can help in certain aspects, yet it can be to the detriment of societies. I would therefore argue that vital and dangerous ones should be differentiated.