Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

In recent years, there have been two conflicting views on the extent to which information should be kept confidential. Some people insist that in this democratic era, more information related to science, business and academia should be made readily accessible to the public. However, others feel the need to restrict public access to certain important or valuable data. In my opinion, I concur with the first point of view, for people would derive considerable benefit from information sharing.

On the one hand, opponents of data sharing contend that unrestricted circulation of information poses a serious threat to national security. For example, if people can access the confidential information about how to develop nuclear power or missiles, the safety of many countries will be jeopardized. There are fears that these weapons might fall into the wrong hands of terrorists, and as such they will be equipped with the knowledge to create weapons of mass destruction to carry out brutal massacres on a large scale. Given the drawback of data sharing, some people believe that critically important information should not be circulated without rigorous protection plans.

On the other hand, those who advocate information transparency suggest that information sharing could advance the scientific and technological development. For instance, if Apple Inc. had kept its technical data confidential, the revolution of mobile phones could not have been carried out because most Asian manufacturers would have encountered technical barriers to create a much more innovative product. Considering the aforementioned advantage, some people consider it reasonable to allow more data sharing.

In conclusion, people have different perspectives on how much information could be available to the public. Some fear that unlimited access to information might bring about a crisis of national security. Nevertheless, I think that information sharing can bring considerable benefits to human world as long as it is properly managed.