Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime Discuss both views and give your opinion

Crime, which is a big headache for the governments of many countries, has posed a threat to social security. Different kinds of antisocial incidents such as bank robbery and random murders or shooting are rampant in many cities. In order to address this social problem, some suggest that the government should adopt lengthy imprisonment to fight crime while others propose other strategies to achieve the same goal. From my perspective, the idea of longer prison sentences is more viable to create a crime-free society.

On the one hand, there are two alternative strategies offered to deal with social offenders. First and foremost, death penalty might be a possible solution to disciplining those who are involved with felony/horrible/horrendous crimes such as murder and arson. With this method, the rate of crime will decrease significantly because criminals need to risk their life facing the capital punishment. Education is another way to prevent antisocial behavior. Parents and teachers, for example, can show children crime-related videos so that they instill into their next generation socially acceptable values like the importance of observing law. As a result, children exposed to a law-abiding environment are less likely to do something against society after they grow up.

On the other hand, longer prison sentences are literally a better measure to reduce crime rates on the ground that the horrors of jails can stop people from breaking the law. The first immediate impact is that prisoners are very likely to suffer mental problems. Being confined to a cramped, dingy, and small space for a long period of time, people might mentally break down. Another repercussion is the loss of freedom and dignity for long. After being incarcerated, law offenders are treated as animals that have to listen to the orders given by warders. Even disturbing, though, is that inmates will be cut off from their families. Forced to be isolated from society, they are deprived of the pleasure of staying with their beloved ones.

In conclusion, both the two views have pros and cons, but a longer prison sentence is a more effective way to minimize crimes in a certain country as its strength far outweighs the rest.