Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research business and the academic world Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely Discuss both views and give your

It is often held that sharing research findings should be free. In contrast, some posit that there are certain research results which are so precious that there should be certain degree of restriction in accessing them. This essay discusses both views and argues that findings should only be kept a secret only if they do not relate to the basic necessities of the humankind.

On the one hand, promulgating reseach outputs, lays the foundation of further research in that area. It is almost impossible to find any researcher who has never relied on his/her predecessors, for topic and idea. If there is any restriction on the access of research findings, then it will impede future research in that field of study. For example, in the field of computer science, numerous researchers usually rely on the softwares, databases and programming languages invented by other researchers. Such open access to vital information, has catalyzed research in Computer technologies and have accelerated innovation. This is how open research culture has nourished an environment which is a breeding ground of creative ideas.

On the other hand, sometimes there are certain studies which yield confidential results. For instance, pharmaceutical companies often need to hide their ongoing thesis from their competitors so that they can have an advantage over their peers. To give another example, hardware research by world's leading tech companies such as Apple, Lenovo or NVIDIA have remained behind curtains. These companies did not want to lose their top position in the market in the fear of being toppled by another contestant.

In my opinion, results of the studies involving humanitarian purposes such as food production, energy efficiency, drug and antibiotic invention etc should always be publicly available. These are the needs relating to the whole human race. Therefore, inhibiting prospective research in those areas by restricting open access, is not a reasonable approach. However, the subjects which are very far away from the aforementioned human basic necessities, can be kept secret. As an illustration, weapons research should always be kept confidential. Since the usage of these information by the wrong hands can lead to disastrous consequences. In addition, fields dealing with luxurious tech gadgets, motor cars can also choose to remain adiabetic. As only a minority of the human population are engaged to this and this is the only way the compnay will be able to ensure their profit.

To conclude, both sides of the argument on the issue of whether research information should be freely available have some logic. Nevertheless, I would opine that, a conscientious balance between these two approaches ensures a sustainable solution.