Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, it is undeniable that people have several choices, from personal needs to public demands. Some people may feel it would be a significant change because they have multiselection, while others will have adverse thinking about such development. Personally, I do believe that having too many options may not be a good change.

First and foremost, standing between many choices may lead humans to confusion or indecision. It can be obviously seen that these days, in every aspect, people are forced to make decisions among numerous choices, which causes challenges to them as they do not know what option is the best one, and in some cases, they might keep it blank since it is hard to select. Take an example from the case of when a person tends to purchase a new, updated smartphone. Surprisingly, when searching on the internet, there are more than five mobile phone brands existing out there, such as Iphone, Samsung, Oppo, Bphone, etcetera. Consequently, this diversity makes people confused a lot and makes them hard to choose a good and fit one, or in much worse, they make the decision not to change their phone.

In addition, this change may cause some negative effects on resident’s health. With the development of information technology, everyone will have many more opportunities to reach different sources of information. As a result, some people will try to access as many sources as possible since they are scared of being out-of-date, or it can be called fear of missing out symptoms. The result of this disease will not show up immediately as it is a kind of mental illness. If a patient is in this situation for a long time, he might be depressed sooner or later owing to trying his best to gain more knowledge than others in the community.

To summarize, while it may be good to have several choices for every aspect, I fully see it is not a positive idea, at least in this era, to have numerous options, which may lead to confusion or harmful impacts on human mental health.