Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many claim that in the contemporary world, people are often overwhelmed by options when they have to make decisions. From my perspective, I totally agree with the statement above.

One of the most obvious evidences for this phenomenon is the increasing number of recreational means for today’s people. Gone are the days when ones have almost nothing to do but to go out with friends or watch several channels on television in free time. Nowadays, however, thanks to the explosion of technology, individuals have so many ways to relax that it is occasionally time-consuming for ones do decide whether they will enjoy blockbusters on smart TV or play online games on smartphones on Sunday nights.

Additionally, the dramatic advance of the transportation industry, especially in aviation, is making the world smaller by offering people golden opportunities to go anywhere they like within just two or three hours, which could only exist in wildest dreams of previous generations. This means they certainly have to consider much more destinations to visit in holidays or even to settle down in.

Last but not least, people might find it difficult to make their own career choices from a variety of majors in university or job-related classes. The rise in the volume of colleges and vocational training courses with decreasing tuition fee facilitates students to continue their studies after high school graduation. However, the more options they have, the more tension they might suffer, especially for those who have not already figured out their purposes in life.

To put it in a nutshell, I totally concur with the idea that today’s generations often have to face with the problem of excessive number of choices when making decisions.