Some people believe that physical fitness of strong individuals and teams is the reason for most sports achievements Others however think that mental attitude is more important Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In the salad days of the millennium, society is polarised into two groups almost equally regarding the notion that hard work on their fitness is the main reason for their success in the sports. Different people have their distinct mindset. The following paragraph would shed light on both approaches before making a final note.

To commence with the first notion. There are myriad of things to be shared in its favor. First and foremost is in the sportsperson life their lifestyle and dedication towards their fitness play an immense role for achieving success on the ground. i would quote an instance of Virat Kohli who recently told in his interview that working on his fitness for four to six hours daily helps him to gain success in the cricket world as well as in their personal life. As a result, now he can easily score a hundred runs on the pitch and is able to run fast between pitches.

Shifting towards the second school of thought, mental strength is equally important as fitness. Hence, if a sportsperson lacks a positive attitude on the field then he may not be able to achieve his goal. Moreover, there are such players who have good physic but lacks mental toughness such as players like Ab de Villiers who right now look very fit even at the age of 46 but in high-pressure matches, he becomes nervous and not able to perform for his team. Therefore, mental strength is necessary to perform in big stages of tournaments.

Having discussed the arguments and counterarguments, I would like to infer that in any sports mental strength is above fitness. Without mental toughness, a sportsperson can not achieve success on the field.