Some people believe that preserving natural environment is crucial. However, most make no effort to do so. Why do you think this is happening? What are some simple actions that could help the environment?

Our society is categorized into those that take heed and care for the environment and others who are not in the least bothered about its sustainability, thus their efforts are negligible.

There is a grave threat looming over the environment whereby the masses are depleting it's resources extensively. Although, environmentalists, educationalists and the media are iterating the perils that our actions may cause there are very few who are attentive and strive towards preserving the environment. This is primarily because most are unable to forsee the future, since the current deterioration has not reached a critical level. Lack of information and education in underdeveloped and developing countries can also be another reason for this irresponsibility. Furthermore, many individuals have a misconception that changes are a result of large scale efforts and minor contributions go in vain.

However, every small step taken to preserve the environment can yield big results. Segregating of wastes at domestic level can lead to their treatment in an apt way, thus reducing different kinds of pollution. Ensuring that water and electricity are used wisely reduces the risk of shortage of these resources. The government and media should take an initiative to educate the masses about the dangers of over utilizing limited resources and heavy fines should be levied on individuals who misuse resources. Environmental education should be made a compulsory part of primary school curriculum to inculcate a sense of responsibility towards the environment from a very young age.

There is an urgent need to understand the outcome of our doings before we obliterate what is left of our environment. A small step taken today will ensure there is a tomorrow.