Some people believe that the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There was an ignited debate in recent years to argue for the importance of educational setting. Opponents to orthodox perspective believe that the qualities that could pave the way for success are collected from other environments rather than traditional education. In my humble opinion, university does contribute <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">partly </span>to one’s sweet fruits, other required abilities, however, come down from real-life practices.

On the one hand, current education systems are in desperate need of being reformed. Despite the concept accepted for generations that learning is the shortcut to eradicate the gap of the circumstance which one was born, our education system is way behind on realistic expectations. For example, the rising reports on graduates' lack of practical knowledge forced more and more universities to include computer science and STEM in their curriculum no matter what their student's major is. This move could be admitted as education’s failure amid changing realistic expectations. In this light, the skeptics have the rights to declare that current higher education does not catch the pace of time any longer.

On the other hand, it is inevitable that practical experiences do contribute mainly to one’s success. For years, people are covered the eyes by a misconception that knowledge learned from higher education is enough for our career. In real life, however, practical experiences are the best mentor in orienting our career, verifying our knowledge, or even repeatedly warning us about the traps lurking in every corner of our job. For example, an employee has to spend time accumulating experience or leadership before reaching higher ranks. Furthermore, this employee is required to prove his ability in confronting the storms to comes also. Such kinds of these qualities are hardly found in any higher education today.

In conclusion, there is a widening gap between higher education and realistic expectation that forces the authority to pay attention. I firmly believe that humans today do no longer depend on the knowledge taught in universities to enjoy their own fruits.