Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Homework is a common feature of school life. Giving students some homework is a useful exercise. Too much homework, however, can cause a great deal of unnecessary stress for pupils. In the following essay, I will discuss the reasons for this view.

Homework is a beneficial tool in the school week for several reasons. Most importantly, it teaches pupils to work independently and to practise the skills or knowledge acquired during lesson time. They are able to work on projects or extended pieces of work, which they have to research either in the library or using the internet.

Homework also teaches children the discipline needed to complete work to a deadline - a very important life skill. It also helps parents to become involved in their child's learning. By helping with homework, parents can understand what is being learnt at school and encourage their child to become interested in the topic.

It is also important to note, however, that homework time should be limited and too much homework could have a negative impact on a child's ability to learn. Too much homework could be very stressful for a child and ruin their enjoyment of being at school. Homework should be limited to one hour every evening, so children have the time to become involved in other important activities, such as sport or music lessons.

To conclude therefore, homework does have a value at school and should not be banned altogether. It is also very important, however, that homework does not dominate a child's time at home. There must also be adequate time for family, friends and sport.