Some people believe schoolchildren should help to create rules in their schools. Others say teachers alone should decide what the rules are.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions of people vary with regard to rules at schools. A number of individuals think that all the rules ought to be set solely by teachers, whereas others argue that the opinions of students should also be taken into consideration. Personally, I feel closer to the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, there are a couple of reasons why teachers themselves should be in charge of rules. Firstly, they are relatively more experienced and are capable of implementing rational rules which are bound to suit everyone involved. To elucidate, a teacher spends years of the life analyzing the environment along with the atmosphere of school, so they may know the situation better than anyone else does. Another reason, meanwhile, is the chaos which may occur provided that the views of all pupils are asked. Thus, to avoid all the headache, teachers make rules on their own.

On the other hand, the involvement of students in the process of rules creation can be an affective strategy to make them more obedient. For, not only will this make them feel as an asset of the school, but also add up extra responsibility for their actions. As for the former claim, when a person is requested to express a personal opinion, they feel their importance to the place and join the unity. Turning to the latter, once a person contributes to the rule, they realize the obligation to obey it. Hence, letting students create rules is not such a bad idea, unless everything is properly managed and a compromise is reached.

To conclude, although teachers can cope with the implementation of rules on their own, it would be a step forward to interact with students in this matter.