Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children while others feel it should be purely optional Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion

The debate over whether to make sports part of school curricula has been raging for the past several decades. In my opinion, I believe that although there are some difficulties in making sports a part of school life, overall such activities should be mandatory for several reasons.

A growing body of reasearch suggests that sports generally bring various positives to young children, both physically and mentally. To begin with, sports can strengthen children's muscles and enhance their stamina, which promotes mental stability and helps their studying process considerably. In Finland, for instance, students are encouraged to enroll in sports clubs with a view to strengthening individual capacity for certain stressful circumstances like sitting for a final examination. Although such physical and mental health benefits gained from sports are hard to measure, it can be argued that sports can contribute greatly to the overall well-being of children.

However, many claim that sports seem to pale into insignificance when compared to traditional subjects like science and literature, thus the obligation is unjustified. It is because employers usually expect their potential candidates to be competent at logical thinking and decision-making rather than being physically attractive, which we can see in gigantic corporations like Google. Also, when sports are obligatory, educational funding will be shared amongst the subjects, leading to a shortage of adequate facilities in some. That means although sports can be beneficial, such drawbacks can affect some schools' financial securiry and their students' ability to prepare for future jobs.

In conclusion, while sports can benefit children through improving their physical and mental health, they can also take financial support from other important subjects. In my view, however, I personally think children should be obliged to play sports for their overall well-being, provided that schools regulate efficiently their funding and balance the stress put on different subjects.