Some people believe that students who want to attend colleges or universities after

graduation from high school should spend one more year taking a job to gain work experience or travelling to enlarge their vision. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice.

It is argued that highschool graduates who want to pursue tertiary education should take a year to travel or work to enrich their experience and knowledge. This practice has both benefits and drawbacks.

Firstly, moving to new places, meeting new people is certainly going to broaden the youngsters' network and enhance their social skills, which are critical to their future career development. Secondly, the time away also acts like a self- discovery period. While doing work or charity, they can reflect on themselves to understand what their strengths are and what they are truly passionate about. This is extremely vital because many teens do not have a clue about career orientation and often end up with a major that does not really suit them.

On the other hand, there are some downsides to this. Taking a gap year before entering college may not be a good choice if students don't have a smart plan for it. If all they do is travel like they’re on vacation, sit back and relax, then the time is still wasted without a fruitful outcome. It would be a whole year they can't take back and set them behind compared to their peers who would have already finished two semesters at university.

In conclusion, having a gap year after highschool is advantageous if it helps students gain valuable lessons and skills that can assist them well in college. However, it also needs to be planned carefully in order to make the most out of this time.