Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time This can benefit teenagers and the community as well To what extent do you agree or disagree

There have been opinions that stress the importance of teenagers’ contribution to the society. I strongly agree that by offering free community service, the youth can not only be of assistance for their community, but also enjoy a chance for personal development.

Firstly, it is evident that the community can benefit from the youthful workforce. If youngsters could put aside a small portion of their leisure time to help with social tasks such as cleaning the streets and taking care of senior citizens, the municipality would certainly be able to save an enormous amount of expenses, thus reducing the burden on the national budget in social sector in the long run. Additionally, involving adolescents in these social activities seems like a sensible method to enhance understanding and strengthen the bond among members of the community, especially between the young and the elderly, whose generation gap is severely wide.

The personal gains for each individual teenager are also worth mentioning. Through unpaid social work, the youth can acquire practical knowledge which is often not available in the usual classroom settings. Instead of spending hours reading about moral education in textbooks, it would be more beneficial if students could actually participate in useful social activities and make their own evaluation of their progress. This process, certainly, can facilitate the augmentation of the children’s interpersonal skills such as team work, problem-solving and so on.

In sum, the social and personal merits of encouraging voluntary activities for teenagers are undeniable. Teenagers are strongly advised to be more active in this field of work, as this will clearly be of great value to both the society and the youth themselves.