Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects, while others claim that students should focus on the subject that they are best at or that they find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Few persons think that youngsters should focus on overall learning as per school's curriculum, while the rest claim that the thrust must be in area of their interests or talent. A million dollar question arises in case of multi-faceted children. A maths wizard great at writing or an artist who loves coding will become difficult to identify. How can anyone know their area of interest or talent without spending time with it?.

Firstly, education is meant to provide holistic growth. While it needs to make a person job ready, knowledge must not be the price for it. Basic exposure to various fields is what high education offers. Beyond that, selective studying is always awaiting the student. At college level, anyone pursuing engineering or medicine or law is most certainly going to study different subjects. Hence, their concentration will be on specific areas not generalist studies.

To identify the true calling and to face unprecedented life wholesome studies becomes a tool. For example, say a lawyer finds his friend bitten by a snake, he needs to know basic first aid apart from calling the doctors. It could also be that an accountant finds something missing in his calculations, basics of maths or algebra is certainly helpful. For everyday communication language studies is basic, for travel oriented jobs geography is useful etc., Is it possible to write off some subjects as useless based on short sighted ideas?.

Besides, there are quite a bunch of individuals who shift careers. One moment a kid wanted to be a doctor , then a fashion designer. In such a situation it becomes relatively difficult if the student majored in one area at school. Usually, compared to liberal arts stream the sciences give a broader range of career options that pupils can capitalise on.

Considering this and also the fact that in some situations, even middle management professionals or pupils of professional courses drop out or switch their areas of specialisations. In case of such horizontal transition , whatever they learnt in high school may also come in handy. For example , there are instances where an engineer moves to study economics and statistics. Most commonly, these subjects were covered in school and brushing up the basics might be useful.

All in all, knowledge never hurts and in life nobody can do everything. But everybody can do something and it is about find the right fit. Still it does not have to come at the cost of being open to learning. After all, knowledge only empowers and not hurts.