Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

People have a different opinion about crimes' punishments. Many argue that there should be fixed penalty for each kind of crime. Other people think the condition of the criminal action and the motivation for doing it, should be taken into consideration. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and outline my opinion.

Some people thinks the penalty should be fixed, so it to deterrent people from committing a crime, because if the person aware of what he faces if commits a law-breaking, this would prevent him from doing it. But, if the person knew his sentence will be softening he would encourage to do his action. For example, statistics show increasing crime rate (blood for blood) in Iraq due to an extenuating sentence for this kind of crimes.

On the other hand, other people argue the punishments should not be fixed, furthermore, it should be based on crime's circumstances, and the causes of the action should be taken into account, So the accused is given a fair trial. for instance, a person has stolen a market due to poverty and a Bank employee has taken apart in a robbery of this bank, these two are spending five years of a prison sentence, as showed in a report in daily mail newspaper.

In my opinion, the defendant should be tried based on fixed penalty, so that prevent further crimes.

In conclusion, people are divided between how should crimes be assessed. however, as long as the law applied subjectively, the fixed punishments are better.