some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that high school students should be involved in doing unpaid community service as a part of their curriculum. In my view, while these activities are beneficial for students to some extent, I would argue that voluntary work should not be considered as a compulsion for high school students

On the one hand, I am of the opinion that students joining unpaid work would bring some remarkable advantages. Firstly, taking part in community service allows students to gain some useful skills such as communication and teamwork as they usually work with different people in society. It is also very helpful for students who tend to study abroad. For example, some top colleagues require social activities as a part of their condition to apply. What you have done outside the classroom is often the thing that differentiates you from other applicants and takes advantage. In addition, volunteering can prevent students from participating in social evils and decrease the crime rate in society

On the other hand, I believe that high school students should do unpaid work whenever they like and we should not force them. The first explanation is that students spend most time of the day in school and have to do their homework every day. Therefore, if they join volunteering activities, they might not have enough time to fulfill their tasks and guarantee the quality of their study process. Another reason is that high school students should have time to relax and partake in sports after hard working hours so that they can gain energy back to apply themselves to their study

In conclusion, although doing voluntary work can be advantageous1for students, I firmly believe that these activities should not be put in high school programmes as a compulsory part