Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes for example working for a charity improving the neighbourhood or teaching sport for younger children To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about whether students should be forced to do volunteering or not. This has led to a suggestion that volunteer service should be a compulsory course in high school courses. In my opinion, even though it is not fair for some students, this constructive idea is completely feasible.

It is true that wasting time and energy is considered one of the disadvantages of including volunteering in the high school curriculum. For example, students are usually under pressure at the end of each semester, during which time they must work hard on their studies. On top of that students need to spend part of their time to fulfill their volunteer duties. As a result, they are overwhelmed by too much work. Not only may they perform poorly on exams and submit final papers later, but they also invest less in volunteer work. Nevertheless this doesn’t mean that we should shy away from volunteering.

In fact, unpaid community service gives students the opportunity to practice and build social skills for future life and career. For example, students who volunteer to help the elderly will practice communication skills before working and develop compassion for those in need. In other words, students can understand how to treat people in society well, and this useful skill will help them do better in their future jobs.

In addition, voluntary service provides students with many mental health benefits. Many scientific studies have shown that helping others has a profound impact on our mental health. Students can not only relieve the stress related to learning, but also feel satisfied and enhance self-confidence.Therefore, as their sense of accomplishment continues to grow in their minds, students will have a positive view of their lives and future goals.

In a nutshell, the idea of ​​making community voluntary activities a mandatory part of the high school curriculum is completely feasible. Despite a waste of time, volunteering can help students develop a sense of community and eliminate the effects of anxiety. Therefore, high school students should seize the opportunity to contribute to society