Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every way Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop

Computers games have become part and parcel of children’s entertainment in this Post-PC era. This enormous popularity has recently led to two opposing views on the effects of playing computer games on children. Some people claim that computer games are detrimental to children’s health whereas others regard this hi-tech entertainment as a way to facilitate children’s overall development. In my opinion, only when computer games are applied to an educational context will they have positive effects on children.

On the one hand, an increasing number of parents are concerned about the negative influences of computer games. They claim these games may endanger children’s physical and mental health. The alarming trend in children’s obesity is a good illustration of how computer games adversely affect young children. With their leisure time mostly spent on playing thrilling games in front of computer screens and mobile phones, children lack sufficient physical activities, and this sedentary lifestyle inevitably results in burning fewer calories and gaining weight. In addition to being a victim of health hazards, 80 per cent of the U.K. parents are worried about the violent content of computer games that could have a harmful impact on children’s psychological and behavioral development. They believe children would internalize and imitate the ferocious acts in the games, eventually justifying these anti-social behaviors and becoming aggressive people. Given the potential harms, some people think it necessary to keep children away from computer games.

On the other hand, other people assert that playing computer games helps enrich children’s social and intellectual skills. For example, most games require teamwork, collaboration and communication. Players must support their fellow players and communicate efficiently to accomplish a challenging goal. Sometimes, a player may need to sacrifice himself for the final victory. Through these three processes, children may learn how to get along well with other people and realize the importance of being a part of something that is larger than themselves. Moreover, the development of children’s intellectual skills is another example of the positive effect of computer games. Video games can aid children in developing problem-solving skills. Researchers have indicated that young children need to make a strategic plan and have a successful management of resources to forestall any attacks from their rivals and outwit their opponents.

In my opinion, whether or not computer games are inimical to children’s development depends on how we make use of them. If they are only used for entertainment, they may definitely affect children’s physical and mental health to a considerable degree. Nevertheless, these hi-tech games can engage children in their school learning and maximize their academic achievements if applied to an educational context. For instance, if a math teacher integrates computer games into his teaching activities, this fun-oriented and project-based teaching may not only increase children’s learning motivation but also enhance their social and intellectual development.

To recapitulate, computer games are becoming the main source of entertainment in this digital world. Despite the fact that people hold different perspectives on how children may be influenced by these games, I think the value of this entertainment lies in whether it is properly used to enhance children’s overall abilities.