Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programme (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people suggest that the work contributed by high school students without remuneration should be compulsory as a one part of schoolwork. Probably the students will thus spend more time in contribution to the community, but I do not acknowledge this measure.

If the service for the community is compulsory, many students will forced to do as much the community service as required by the school. Facing the increase of community work, students are necessary to plan their study timetable again. In addition, many schools tend to take utilization of students' vacation for community service, students' time of relaxation or training other skills. By this implementation, certainly, students will learn something from community service, however, they also lose the chance to access to their future career and professional training.

Given the outcome caused by the compulsory community service, in my opinion, it is better to plan some mechanisms of encouragement to enhance students' positivity to community service. Students with diverse future orientation will have different preparation of their prospects. Schools and educational department should focus on what the students really need in their future career or study so as to made out the mechanisms of encouragement that are suitable for students accordingly. For students who are eager to receive the offers from the top universities or job opportunities from the company, universities and companies can give priorities to students who are likely to contribute to communities. Naturally, students will be pleasure to accomplish community work as more as possible, meanwhile, for the students who are prone to earn money for themselves, this way is more fair and acceptable.

In conclusion, compulsory community service will, to some extent, increase the number of students who work for communities, however, this occupy the time which originally deserve to them.