Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with police or the military. Others think women are less suitable for this kind of job. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people hold the belief that a woman is not right candidate for the armed force jobs, others argue that there should be no gender discrimination while selecting a candidate for these kinds of jobs. However, I agree with the latter view.

At the outset, I can understand why some advocate that women are not suitable for military or police forces. They may argue that women are not physical fit enough to perform all tasks of these jobs since these tasks usually demand staying in a harsh climate, having a physical confrontation and so on. However, I believe it is quite a short sighted argument because many women are equally or even more physically fit than men. With the help of training, gym, and excellent diet, any woman can become as stronger as man.

In my opinion, all women should be given equal opportunities as men to join armed forces. Firstly, it will reduce the problem of gender discrimination in the society, empower women to prove themselves and give them chance to serve their nations. Undoubtedly, it is the moral responsibility of the government to provide equal chance to its citizen to serve the nations and the society. Secondly, women's contribution in armed force, especially in the police force, has become an urgent need as a female police officer can handle a case in a better way if a victim is either a child or a female.

In conclusion, although people are in doubt about the credibility of women to get job in armed forces, I personally believe that they are absolutely appropriate for these jobs and in fact there are some tasks in these jobs, which they can perform in a better way than men.