Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very little about famous people from the history in their own country (national historic/heroic figures).

Why is this?

How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

These days, people are more interested in worldwide celebrities and movie stars than national historic figures. In this essay, I will outline the main reason for this issue as well as the solution to mitigate the situation.

There are some rationales to explain why teenagers have a huge interest in international celebrities. First of all, famous people’s lives are grabbing the headlines of the majority of all online Internet platforms. Meanwhile, the youngsters tend to spend most of their spare time on networking sites, since such information about these popular people will appear more frequently; therefore this will naturally grow their interest in this topic. Furthermore, the approach of history teaching methods at conventional schools seems to be unattractive. It is because teachers are using too many theories instead of practical stimulation, which makes the students easily lose interest in the class.

However, there are several solutions to tackle the situation described above. Firstly, films and TV show directors should be encouraged to produce documentary programs or films that are relevant to certain historical events with the collaboration with international celebrities. This will provide a tremendous amount of attention from all ages, including the young, as they follow the popular star, they will also obtain more knowledge about the national history through the documentary film. Besides, history teaching methods at school also need to change drastically to appeal to more students. In fact, a history class could be fun and creative, for instance, teachers can make it more intriguing by creating an animation video about the lesson and dubbing their voice or making jokes to make the students laugh.

In conclusion, two main reasons why young people are more interested in international pop and movie stars are the popularity of celebrities on the Internet and the boring history teaching methods. Nevertheless, encouraging films and programs based on historical events and changing the history teaching approach can be viable solutions to this problem.