The author agrees with the statement that adequate measures are not in place to recycle waste from homes. The situation, however, can improve if the government or local authority decides to put legal restrictions on the waste management process.

For instance, it is compulsory for the residents in the city of Bangalore to divide the waste into several categories such as hazardous, bio-waste and recyclable waste and discard it in separate containers. There is a fine for the offenders and the Cleaner also refuses to take the waste if the rules are not followed. The net collected recyclable waste is sold at the end of the month for a sum which bring incentives to society in terms of money.

Further, I believe if one cannot put in necessary efforts, people should form groups or societies to recycle and manage the waste in a more fruitful manner. There is another law which focuses on the society rather than an individual. An example of this is the organic compost plant established in my society which accepts bio-waste from houses and converts it into fertilizer. The product is then spread in the gardens which helps in returning the nutrition to the soil.

The above two ideas which I have observed in my locality seems to give a pretty fair idea that regulations are needed to increase the recycling efficiency. If such laws are not in place, the habitants would not be aware of the mistakes they are doing and the harm they are bringing to our planet. In addition to this, the author also believes an awareness campaign on proper waste management activities can educate the citizens.

To conclude, the rules and regulations help in making more people to take actions towards recycling. Not only rules, incentives can also be introduced to lure more participants thus making it a carrot and stick policy.