Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

One of the most pressing issues we face as a society is waste management. It is unfortunate that not enough of our waste is recycled. There are some individuals who believe that allowing recycling to become law would increase its practice. I fully agree with the above opinion. In this essay, I will explain why making recycling a legal requirement would deter individuals from mismanaging waste and bring awareness to the issue.

To begin, putting a law on recycling would deter others from breaking the law for fear of being prosecuted. When the government attaches a punishment to improper waste management such as either paying a substantial fine or community service, it would force most to adjust to this new way of life. Hence providing a deterrent in the form of punishment would help most individuals conform to recycling.

It would create awareness of the need to recycle. When the government places emphasis on recycling, due to its resources, many people will become aware of the need to recycle. Through the use of local tv stations, newspapers, and many other forms of communication, which are easily accessible to the government, they are able to reach a wide range of individuals. Even though this can be done by private agencies, it would take more time and money. Thus, allowing the government to take control of the problem of recycling would make accessibility to the different ways one can recycle easily.

In conclusion, the issue of recycling is an important one. I believe when strict laws are placed on it and information on why and how it should be done is made available, it would greatly boost its usage.